Jason Shilling Kendall

William Paterson University
Hunter College

Introductory Astronomy Online Course

Galaxy Classification Hubble Type

Jason Kendall, William Paterson University

This one is very simple; just match the galaxy image to its type.

Here are the available Hubble types: Sa, Sb, Sc, Sd, SBa, SBb, SBc, SBd, S0, E0, E2, E5, E6, Irr
Each type is used only once.

Useful links: National Optical Astronomy Observatory Gallery and Australian Astronomical Observatory Gallery.

Home | 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

galaxy 01
credit ESO

galaxy 02
credit NOAO

galaxy 03
credit STScI: Hubble Legacy Archive

galaxy 04
credit NOAO

galaxy 05
credit ESO

galaxy 06
credit NOAO

galaxy 07
credit NOAO

galaxy 08
credit NOAO

galaxy 09
credit NOAO

galaxy 10
credit Sloan Digital Sky Survey

galaxy 11
credit Hubble's HTIP 2012

galaxy 12
credit NOAO

galaxy 13
credit NOAO

galaxy 14
credit NOAO

Acknowledgements for the images used in this exercise

The Digitized Sky Survey was produced at the Space Telescope Science Institute under U.S. Government grant NAG W-2166. The images of these surveys are based on photographic data obtained using the Oschin Schmidt Telescope on Palomar Mountain and the UK Schmidt Telescope. The plates were processed into the present compressed digital form with the permission of these institutions.

The Second Palomar Observatory Sky Survey (POSS-II) was made by the California Institute of Technology with funds from the National Science Foundation, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the National Geographic Society, the Sloan Foundation, the Samuel Oschin Foundation, and the Eastman Kodak Corporation. The Oschin Schmidt Telescope is operated by the California Institute of Technology and Palomar Observatory.

The UK Schmidt Telescope was operated by the Royal Observatory Edinburgh, with funding from the UK Science and Engineering Research Council (later the UK Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council ), until 1988 June, and thereafter by the Anglo-Australian Observatory. The blue plates of the southern Sky Atlas and its Equatorial Extension (together known as the SERC-J), the near-IR plates (SERC-I), as well as the Equatorial Red (ER), and the Second Epoch [red] Survey (SES) were all taken with the UK Schmidt telescope at the AAO.

All images labelled with NOAO are courtesy of National Optical Astronomy Observatory/Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy/National Science Foundation.

All images labelled with AAO copyrighted by the Australian Astronomical Observatory, with photographs by David Malin.